Threadneedle (27th May 2021)

(2 customer reviews)

£14.99

Within the boroughs of London, nestled among its streets, hides another city, filled with magic.

‘Magic and love. Love and magic. They destroy everything in the end …’

Anna’s Aunt has always warned her of the dangers of magic. Its twists. Its knots.

Its deadly consequences. Now Anna counts down the days to the ceremony that will bind her magic forever. Until she meets Effie and Attis.

They open her eyes to a London she never knew existed. A shop that sells memories. A secret library where the librarian feeds off words.

A club where revellers lose themselves in a haze of spells. But as she is swept deeper into this world, Anna begins to wonder if her Aunt was right all along. Is her magic a gift … or a curse?

Available on backorder

Purchase this product now and earn 1,499 Bert Points!

SKU: 2251 Category: Tags: ,

Description

Within the boroughs of London, nestled among its streets, hides another city, filled with magic.

‘Magic and love. Love and magic. They destroy everything in the end …’

Anna’s Aunt has always warned her of the dangers of magic. Its twists. Its knots.

Its deadly consequences. Now Anna counts down the days to the ceremony that will bind her magic forever. Until she meets Effie and Attis.

They open her eyes to a London she never knew existed. A shop that sells memories. A secret library where the librarian feeds off words.

A club where revellers lose themselves in a haze of spells. But as she is swept deeper into this world, Anna begins to wonder if her Aunt was right all along. Is her magic a gift … or a curse?

Perfect for fans of Garth Nix, V.E. Schwab and Alix E. Harrow.

Additional information

Weight 0.5 kg
ISBN

9780008407001

Author

Thomas, Cari

Publisher

HarperCollins

Binding

Hardback

2 reviews for Threadneedle (27th May 2021)

  1. Tina Rossiter (verified owner)

    I thoroughly enjoyed Threadneedle, good pen portraits of the characters, interesting premise with both languages of magic and differing disciplines, while I guessed some of the plot there was still plenty to surprise me. I’m a little unsure about the ending but it does leave things open ended enough for a sequel which I’ll definitely purchase.

  2. Anna Kierczynska

    4.5*

    Threadneedle is a magical debut by Cari Thomas. It talks about a girl who is raised by very strict and emotionless aunt, a girl who discovers that spells and magic are not a sin when she’s 16. A girl with dreams which she didn’t know she had.

    The story is painful when we read about the punishments that Anna goes through, her life with her aunt… and the story is joyful when we read about her freedom with her own coven of witches, their parties and spells.

    The plot is a mix of a harsh life and magic. Anna wants to know more about her parents’ death, she’s not sure if she wants to bind her magic and not use it ever again. She finds an escape in the world of witches… but would it be enough to make the right choice?

    As it’s a YA story, there’s a typical high school drama, with rumours and bullying. Although I liked that the bully gets what they deserve.

    Lots of twists and secrets revealed throughout the book.

    Very engaging, enjoyable read. I definitely recommend it to everyone!

    I would really love to see the book as a Netflix tv series, I think it’d fit perfectly.

    ***

    Thank you Harper Voyager for an ARC via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.