Wahala

£14.99

Ronke, Simi, Boo are three mixed-race friends living in London.

They have the gift of two cultures, Nigerian and English. Not all of them choose to see it that way. Everyday racism has never held them back, but now in their thirties, they question their future.

Ronke wants a husband (he must be Nigerian); Boo enjoys (correction: endures) stay-at-home motherhood; while Simi, full of fashion career dreams, rolls her eyes as her boss refers to her urban vibe yet again. When Isobel, a lethally glamorous friend from their past arrives in town, she is determined to fix their futures for them. Cracks in their friendship begin to appear, and it is soon obvious Isobel is not sorting but wrecking.

When she is driven to a terrible act, the women are forced to reckon with a crime in their past that may just have repeated itself. Explosive, hilarious and wildly entertaining, this razor-sharp tale of love, race and family will have you laughing, crying and gasping in horror. Fearlessly political about class, colourism and clothes, the spellbinding Wahala is for anyone who has ever cherished friendship, in all its forms.

Available on backorder

Purchase this product now and earn 749 Bert Points!

SKU: 4168 Categories: , Tags: ,

Description

SEX AND THE CITY with a killer edge for fans of QUEENIE, EXPECTATION and MY SISTER, THE SERIAL KILLERSOON TO BE A MAJOR BBC TV SERIAL

‘Funny, shocking, unputdownable. I loved it’ PAULA HAWKINS

‘Witty, tense and entirely addictive’ ABIGAIL DEAN, Author of GIRL A

‘Terrific. Nikki May writes so well about friendship, food, fashion and the many ways modern women can stumble in their careers and personal lives’ CLARE CHAMBERS

————

Ronke, Simi, Boo are three mixed-race friends living in London.

They have the gift of two cultures, Nigerian and English. Not all of them choose to see it that way. Everyday racism has never held them back, but now in their thirties, they question their future.

Ronke wants a husband (he must be Nigerian); Boo enjoys (correction: endures) stay-at-home motherhood; while Simi, full of fashion career dreams, rolls her eyes as her boss refers to her urban vibe yet again. When Isobel, a lethally glamorous friend from their past arrives in town, she is determined to fix their futures for them. Cracks in their friendship begin to appear, and it is soon obvious Isobel is not sorting but wrecking.

When she is driven to a terrible act, the women are forced to reckon with a crime in their past that may just have repeated itself. Explosive, hilarious and wildly entertaining, this razor-sharp tale of love, race and family will have you laughing, crying and gasping in horror. Fearlessly political about class, colourism and clothes, the spellbinding Wahala is for anyone who has ever cherished friendship, in all its forms.

Additional information

Weight 0.5 kg
ISBN

9780857527783

Author

May, Nikki

Publisher

Doubleday

Binding

Hardback

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Wahala”

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.