Things Can Only Get Better

£8.99

For elderly churchwarden Arthur Calderbank, there’s no place like home. His home just so happens to be a graveyard. He keeps himself to himself, gets on with his job, and visits his wife everyday for a chat.

When one day he finds someone else has been to see his wife – and has left flowers on her grave – he is determined to solve the mystery of who and why. He receives unlikely help from a group of teenage girls as he searches for answers, and soon learns that there is more to life than being surrounded by death. Set during the 90s, when we were all just common people believing things could only get better, this is an uplifting story about the power of a little kindness, friendship and community.

1 in stock (can be backordered)

Description

*FROM THE INTERNATIONALLY BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF CALLING MAJOR TOM*

‘I loved it. Nostalgic without being saccharine, hopeful, real characters with edge. A brilliant book.’ – Hayley Webster

‘I adored it! Truly uplifting. Exactly what people want and need to read right now.’ – Daisy Buchanan

For elderly churchwarden Arthur Calderbank, there’s no place like home. His home just so happens to be a graveyard. He keeps himself to himself, gets on with his job, and visits his wife everyday for a chat.

When one day he finds someone else has been to see his wife – and has left flowers on her grave – he is determined to solve the mystery of who and why. He receives unlikely help from a group of teenage girls as he searches for answers, and soon learns that there is more to life than being surrounded by death. Set during the 90s, when we were all just common people believing things could only get better, this is an uplifting story about the power of a little kindness, friendship and community.

For readers who enjoy Sue Townsend, Ruth Hogan and Joanna Cannon.

Additional information

Weight 0.5 kg
ISBN

9781409185161

Author

Barnett, David M

Publisher

Trapeze

Format

Paperback

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Things Can Only Get Better”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.