The Whistling (14th October 2021)

£14.99

This item will be released October 14, 2021.

Alone in the world, Elspeth Swansome has taken the position of nanny to a family on the remote Scottish island of Skelthsea. Her charge, Mary, is a troubled child. Distracted and secretive, she hasn’t uttered a word since the sudden death of her twin, William – just days after their former nanny disappeared.

With Mary defiantly silent, Elspeth turns to the islanders. But no one will speak of what happened to William. Just as no one can explain the hypnotic lullabies sung in empty corridors.

Nor the strange dolls that appear in abandoned rooms. Nor the faint whistling that comes in the night . .

. As winter draws in and passage to the mainland becomes impossible, Elspeth finds herself trapped. But is this house haunted by the ghosts of the past?

OR THE SECRETS OF THE LIVING..?

Available on backorder

Purchase this product now and earn 1,499 Bert Points!

SKU: 3121 Category: Tags: ,

Description

‘Chills you to your bones . . . more unsettling and beautiful than you can imagine’ 5* READER REVIEW

Alone in the world, Elspeth Swansome has taken the position of nanny to a family on the remote Scottish island of Skelthsea. Her charge, Mary, is a troubled child. Distracted and secretive, she hasn’t uttered a word since the sudden death of her twin, William – just days after their former nanny disappeared.

With Mary defiantly silent, Elspeth turns to the islanders. But no one will speak of what happened to William. Just as no one can explain the hypnotic lullabies sung in empty corridors.

Nor the strange dolls that appear in abandoned rooms. Nor the faint whistling that comes in the night . .

. As winter draws in and passage to the mainland becomes impossible, Elspeth finds herself trapped. But is this house haunted by the ghosts of the past?

OR THE SECRETS OF THE LIVING..?

Chilling, twisty and emotionally gripping, The Whistling is an atmospheric page-turner with shades of the classics, yet a unique character of its own.

Perfect for fans of Susan Hill and Laura Purcell. ‘I was sucked in from page one and read it in one fell swoop’ 5* READER REVIEW’A wicked twist . .

. brilliant, scary, clever. Horror writing at its best’ 5* READER REVIEW’A great story with moments of heart-grabbing terror, beautifully written’ 5* READER REVIEW

Additional information

Weight 0.5 kg
ISBN

9780241533994

Author

Netley, Rebecca

Publisher

Michael Joseph

Binding

Hardback

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Whistling (14th October 2021)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.