The Secrets Act

£7.99

Pearl and Ellen work at top-secret codebreaking HQ, Bletchley Park. Pearl is the youngest.

A messenger at sixteen, she’s untidy, lively, bright, and half in love with the wrong boy, Richard. Her circle of friends overlaps with his – the dashing young men on their motorcycles who courier the secrets that Bletchley deciphers. Ellen is a codebreaker.

Reserved, analytical and beautiful. She never expected to get close to a girl like Pearl – or fall for a chap like Dennis. But when tragedy strikes, their logical world is upended, with both friends caught in a spy plot that rocks the very heart of the war effort.

Who can they turn to now? Who can they trust? And above all, can they unmask the traitor in their midst before it’s too late?

Available on backorder

Purchase this product now and earn 399 Bert Points!

SKU: 4066 Category: Tags: ,

Description

Codebreaker. Friend. Spy? A thrilling, nail-biting YA mystery with themes of friendship, loyalty, secrets, and a dash of romance.

‘The appealing setting, nuanced and flawed heroines and engaging plot make this a gripping read’ THE IRISH TIMES

‘A tense and gripping period piece.’ CHRIS SOUL

‘Absolutely brilliant’ FIONA SHARP,

Waterstones Bookseller Wartime. Pearl and Ellen work at top-secret codebreaking HQ, Bletchley Park. Pearl is the youngest.

A messenger at sixteen, she’s untidy, lively, bright, and half in love with the wrong boy, Richard. Her circle of friends overlaps with his – the dashing young men on their motorcycles who courier the secrets that Bletchley deciphers. Ellen is a codebreaker.

Reserved, analytical and beautiful. She never expected to get close to a girl like Pearl – or fall for a chap like Dennis. But when tragedy strikes, their logical world is upended, with both friends caught in a spy plot that rocks the very heart of the war effort.

Who can they turn to now? Who can they trust? And above all, can they unmask the traitor in their midst before it’s too late?

Follows two young women, Pearl and Ellen, who are recruited to work at Bletchley Park during the Second World War Set in atmospheric 1940s England, The Secrets Act also explores serious historical themes Perfect for fans of Code Name Verity

Additional information

Weight 0.5 kg
ISBN

9781913322991

Author

Weatherby, Alison

Publisher

Chicken House Ltd

Binding

Paperback

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Secrets Act”

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.