The Gifts (17th February 2022)

£14.99

This item will be released February 17, 2022.

October 1840. A young woman staggers alone through a forest in Shropshire as a huge pair of impossible wings rip themselves from her shoulders.

Meanwhile, when rumours of a ‘fallen angel’ cause a frenzy across London, a surgeon desperate for fame and fortune finds himself in the grips of a dangerous obsession, one that will place the women he seeks in the most terrible danger . . .

THE GIFTS is the astonishing debut adult novel from the lauded author of BEARMOUTH. A gripping and ambitious book told through five different perspectives and set against the luminous backdrop of nineteenth century London, it explores science, nature and religion, enlightenment, the role of women in society and the dark danger of ambition.

Available on backorder

Purchase this product now and earn 1,499 Bert Points!

SKU: 3237 Category: Tags: ,

Description

The luminous debut adult novel from the Waterstones Prize Winner, perfect for fans of The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock and The Doll Factory

In an age defined by men, it will take something extraordinary to show four women who they truly are . . .

October 1840. A young woman staggers alone through a forest in Shropshire as a huge pair of impossible wings rip themselves from her shoulders.

Meanwhile, when rumours of a ‘fallen angel’ cause a frenzy across London, a surgeon desperate for fame and fortune finds himself in the grips of a dangerous obsession, one that will place the women he seeks in the most terrible danger . . .

THE GIFTS is the astonishing debut adult novel from the lauded author of BEARMOUTH. A gripping and ambitious book told through five different perspectives and set against the luminous backdrop of nineteenth century London, it explores science, nature and religion, enlightenment, the role of women in society and the dark danger of ambition.

‘Haunting, thrilling, wonderful. I loved it’ Stacey Halls

‘Fierce and touching. A beautiful, riveting novel suffused with luminous magic against the grimy backdrop of 19th century London. Wild female power clashes with dark scientific ambition in this compelling story’ Jenny Saint, Sunday Times bestselling author of Ariadne

‘From the moment the Thames gave up its astonishing secret, I was transfixed by this fantastical tale of winged women and their quest for liberation in the face of science turned into dark obsession. A deliciously intriguing mix of moral bankruptcy and resilience, with a captivating female friendship at its heart’ Sonia Velton, author of Blackberry & Wild Rose

‘An extraordinary novel – resonant, propulsive and utterly absorbing. Once I’d picked it up, I truly couldn’t put it down – I didn’t want to leave Liz Hyder’s vividly realised world, and I cannot wait to follow wherever she takes us next’ Katie Lowe, author of The Furies

‘I devoured The Gifts, eager to find out the fate of its wonderfully drawn characters. A wonderful, atmospheric book that immersed me in the dirty streets of nineteenth century London and swept me away to the hills of Shropshire. A real gem’ Louise Hare, author of This Lovely City

‘Ambitious and darkly brilliant . . . provocative, tender, claustrophobic and epic. It blew my mind’ Kiran Millwood Hargrave on Bearmouth

‘Extraordinary… compelling and original’ Sunday Times, Book of the Year on Bearmouth

‘Devastating, genre breaking… I can’t wait to see what Hyder does next, I will go wherever she takes me’ Daisy Johnson on Bearmouth

‘Hand-in-mouth gripping… Hyder will become a household name’ The Times on Bearmouth

Additional information

Weight 0.5 kg
ISBN

9781786580733

Author

Hyder, Liz

Publisher

Manilla Press

Binding

Hardback

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Gifts (17th February 2022)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.