The Conductors

£9.99

Meet Hetty Rhodes, a former conductor on the Underground Railroad who now uses her magic to solve crimes in her community in a post-Civil War world. As an escaped slave, Hetty Rhodes helped dozens of people find their own freedom north using her wits and her magic.

Now that the Civil War is over, Hetty and her husband, Benjy, still fight for their people by solving the murders and mysteries that the white authorities won’t touch. When they discover one of their friends brutally murdered in an alley, Hetty and Benjy mourn his loss by setting off to find answers. But the mystery of his death soon brings up more questions, more secrets, more hurt.

To solve his death, they will have to not only face the ugly truths about the world but the ones about each other.

 

Available on backorder

Purchase this product now and earn 999 Bert Points!

SKU: 3403 Category: Tags: ,

Description

FILM RIGHTS NOW OPTIONED BY QUEEN LATIFAH

_________________________________

‘An Underground Railroad – but with magic’ P. Djeli Clark

‘…a delightfully genre-bending debut’ Tananarive Due

_________________________________

Meet Hetty Rhodes, a former conductor on the Underground Railroad who now uses her magic to solve crimes in her community in a post-Civil War world. As an escaped slave, Hetty Rhodes helped dozens of people find their own freedom north using her wits and her magic.

Now that the Civil War is over, Hetty and her husband, Benjy, still fight for their people by solving the murders and mysteries that the white authorities won’t touch. When they discover one of their friends brutally murdered in an alley, Hetty and Benjy mourn his loss by setting off to find answers. But the mystery of his death soon brings up more questions, more secrets, more hurt.

To solve his death, they will have to not only face the ugly truths about the world but the ones about each other.

Perfect for fans of Victor LaValle and Zen Cho, The Conductors is a compelling debut by a fresh voice in fantasy fiction that will leave you longing for more.

_________________________________

‘… a wholly original and thoroughly riveting story… an unforgettable debut’ DEANNA REYBOURN, New York Times best-selling author of A Murderous Relation

Additional information

Weight 0.5 kg
ISBN

9781529102079

Author

Glover, Nicole

Publisher

Del Rey

Binding

Paperback

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Conductors”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.