The Butcher of Berner Street (Leo Stanhope 3)

£8.99

The headlines scream warnings about the ‘Butcher of Berner Street!’ and the journalist behind them – Leo Stanhope – is secretly thrilled to see the effect his words are having. Leo is used to covering more mundane issues, but when an anonymous letter summons him to a club in East London, only for the owner of the club to be found murdered shortly afterwards, Leo sees a story worth pursuing.

Not to mention an opportunity to make a name for himself. Yet the more Leo digs, the stranger the story becomes, taking him from the club to a nearby convent, and into the past of a very unusual woman. But he is not the only one hunting for a killer.

And it seems Leo’s newspaper reports may have put someone else in grave danger…

Available on backorder

Purchase this product now and earn 449 Bert Points!

Description

The latest atmospheric mystery from the author of the Richard and the Judy Book Club choice, The House on Half Moon Street.

‘Exceptional – you hear and smell and taste Victorian London’ Sarah Hilary

The headlines scream warnings about the ‘Butcher of Berner Street!’ and the journalist behind them – Leo Stanhope – is secretly thrilled to see the effect his words are having. Leo is used to covering more mundane issues, but when an anonymous letter summons him to a club in East London, only for the owner of the club to be found murdered shortly afterwards, Leo sees a story worth pursuing.

Not to mention an opportunity to make a name for himself. Yet the more Leo digs, the stranger the story becomes, taking him from the club to a nearby convent, and into the past of a very unusual woman. But he is not the only one hunting for a killer.

And it seems Leo’s newspaper reports may have put someone else in grave danger…

The Butcher of Berner Street is a brilliantly atmospheric, characterful Victorian mystery, perfect for fans of Antonia Hodgson, Abir Mukherjee and Andrew Taylor.

____________________

The latest Leo Stanhope case, The Blood Flower, is available to pre-order now – out July 2022!

____________________

Additional information

Weight 0.5 kg
ISBN

9781526612748

Author

Reeve, Alex

Binding

Hardback

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Butcher of Berner Street (Leo Stanhope 3)”

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.