Spirited

(1 customer review)

£16.99

Order now to get a signed bookplate

Three women carry unspeakable truths in their heart. At what cost will they find their freedom?

In Victorian England, Viola is an amateur photographer struggling with the grief of her father’s death and the sterile atmosphere of her marriage to her childhood friend, Jonah. When she discovers a talent for capturing ghostly images on camera, Viola comes to the attention of a spirit medium, and a powerful attraction between the two women is sparked…

As each woman puts herself at risk, secrets are brought to light that will change their lives forever. Driven by passionate, courageous female characters, and exploring themes of sexuality, gender and prejudice, Spirited is your next unforgettable read. Perfect for fans of The Binding, The Familiars, and Once Upon a River.

6 in stock (can be backordered)

SKU: 00816 Categories: , , Tags: ,

Description

Three women carry unspeakable truths in their heart. At what cost will they find their freedom?

In Victorian England, Viola is an amateur photographer struggling with the grief of her father’s death and the sterile atmosphere of her marriage to her childhood friend, Jonah. When she discovers a talent for capturing ghostly images on camera, Viola comes to the attention of a spirit medium, and a powerful attraction between the two women is sparked…

As each woman puts herself at risk, secrets are brought to light that will change their lives forever. Driven by passionate, courageous female characters, and exploring themes of sexuality, gender and prejudice, Spirited is your next unforgettable read. Perfect for fans of The Binding, The Familiars, and Once Upon a River.

********

Praise for Julie Cohen’s storytelling:

‘Not often does a story remind us of what beautifully complex creatures we are. Julie Cohen has given us that rare gift’ Christina Dalcher, author of VOX

‘Moving and beautiful’ Joanna Cannon

‘Elegant, thoughtful and powerful’ Daisy Buchanan

‘One of the most beautiful and heartbreaking stories I’ve read’ Emma Flint

‘Original, poignant and beautifully told’ S Magazine

Additional information

Weight 0.5 kg
ISBN

9781409179870

Author

Cohen, Julie

Publisher

Orion

Binding

Hardback

1 review for Spirited

  1. uriel walker (verified owner)

    I enjoyed this immensely.

    There is a real slow burn to the story, with sudden bursts of wildness and freedom, that make you deeply feel the individual yearnings of the three main characters.

    There is also a constant thread of concern, a fine balancing act of hope tinged with heightened fear, that pervades the events of the narrative.

    I found myself easily caught up in the drama and felt as though I had read a long lost classic.

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.