She’s in CTRL (8th September 2022)

£16.99

This item will be released September 8, 2022.

An inspirational exploration of why women are under-represented in tech, why it matters, and what we can do about it. Perfect for readers of Invisible Women.

The tech world might feel beyond reach, particularly if you’re a woman. With increasingly frank admission women are woefully under-represented in tech – roughly a mere quarter of the UK STEM workforce – the dangerous fact is clear our technology is the product of a series of big decisions made by a small number of people, mainly men. Our lives have gone digital, but our technology risks being tailored to a section of society whose lived experience may be far from our own.

Available on backorder

Purchase this product now and earn 849 Bert Points!

Description

‘A powerful and inspiring call to action from one of Britain’s brightest minds – She’s In Ctrl asks all the right questions about women in tech and Imafidon sets about providing practical, long overdue solutions .’- Yomi Adegoke, award-winning journalist, author of Slay in Your Lane etc.

An inspirational exploration of why women are under-represented in tech, why it matters, and what we can do about it. Perfect for readers of Invisible Women.

The tech world might feel beyond reach, particularly if you’re a woman. With increasingly frank admission women are woefully under-represented in tech – roughly a mere quarter of the UK STEM workforce – the dangerous fact is clear our technology is the product of a series of big decisions made by a small number of people, mainly men. Our lives have gone digital, but our technology risks being tailored to a section of society whose lived experience may be far from our own.

In She’s In CTRL, computer scientist Dr Anne-Marie Imafidon, a dynamic advocate for women in STEM, calls time on women being cut out of the tech story. Technology is not an unchangeable force, nor the preserve of the elite, she argues. It is in our homes and in our hands.

In her powerful book about women, tech and daring to dream, Dr Imafidon shows we have more agency than we think, drawing on her own experience and the stories of other pioneers and innovators who have, against the odds, transformed technology. The world needs more women in tech and, in her inspiring narrative, Dr Imafidon shows not only why this is but how we can all play our part in ensuring a future that’s evenly distributed.

Additional information

Weight 0.5 kg
ISBN

9781787635029

Author

Imafidon, Anne-Marie

Publisher

Bantam Press

Binding

Hardback

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “She’s in CTRL (8th September 2022)”

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.