Psalms for the End of the World (1st September 2022)

£20.00

It’s 1962 and physics student Grace Pulansky believes she has met the man of her dreams, Robert Jones, while serving up slices of pecan pie at the local diner. But then the FBI shows up, with their fedoras and off-the-rack business suits, and accuses him of being a bomb-planting mass-murderer. Finding herself on the run with Jones across America’s Southwest, the discoveries awaiting Gracie will undermine everything she knows about the universe.

Her story will reveal how scores of lives – an identity-swapping rock star, a mourning lover in ancient China, Nazi hunters in pursuit of a terrible secret, a crazed artist in pre-revolutionary France, an astronaut struggling with a turbulent interplanetary future, and many more – are interconnected across space and time by love, grief, and quantum entanglement.

Available on backorder

Purchase this product now and earn 1,000 Bert Points!

Description

‘A book designed to be more than the sum of its parts, and one that achieves that because love is the thing that binds it together. Vitally fresh’ Dominic Nolan

‘A trans-dimensional, kaleidoscopic mystery-box of a novel…. wholly and riotously original. Haddon is a mad scientist of genre and his epic is a tour de force.’ Peter Ho Davies

It’s 1962 and physics student Grace Pulansky believes she has met the man of her dreams, Robert Jones, while serving up slices of pecan pie at the local diner. But then the FBI shows up, with their fedoras and off-the-rack business suits, and accuses him of being a bomb-planting mass-murderer. Finding herself on the run with Jones across America’s Southwest, the discoveries awaiting Gracie will undermine everything she knows about the universe.

Her story will reveal how scores of lives – an identity-swapping rock star, a mourning lover in ancient China, Nazi hunters in pursuit of a terrible secret, a crazed artist in pre-revolutionary France, an astronaut struggling with a turbulent interplanetary future, and many more – are interconnected across space and time by love, grief, and quantum entanglement.

Spanning continents, centuries, and dimensions, this exquisitely crafted and madly inventive novel – a triple-disk, concept-album of a book – is a profound yet propulsive enquiry into the nature of reality – the perfect immersive read for fans of David Mitchell, Emily St. John Mandel, Neil Gaiman and Margaret Atwood.

Additional information

Weight 0.5 kg
ISBN

9781472286673

Author

Haddon, Cole

Publisher

Headline

Binding

Hardback

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Psalms for the End of the World (1st September 2022)”

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.