Nothing More Dangerous

(2 customer reviews)

£8.99

In a small town where loyalty is valued above all, defying unspoken rules can be deadly. A coming-of-age novel for fans of Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter. At fifteen, Boady Sanden dreams of being anywhere other than Jessup, Missouri.

Then the Elgins move in across the road. Getting to know his new neighbours – a black family in a community where notions of “us” and “them” still carry weight – Boady is forced to rethink the world he took for granted. Secrets hidden in plain sight begin to unfold.

There’s the mother consumed by loss of her husband, the neighbour who carries the wounds of a mysterious past, the quiet boss fighting a hidden battle. But the biggest secret of all is the disappearance of Lida Poe, the African-American woman who keeps the books at the local factory. Although Boady has never met the missing woman, he discovers that the threads of her life are woven into the deepest fabric of his world.

As the mystery of Lida’s fate plays out, Boady begins to see the stark lines of race and class that both bind and divide this small town – and he will be forced to choose sides.

Available on backorder

Purchase this product now and earn 899 Bert Points!

SKU: 00615 Category: Tag:

Description

‘This powerful, unforgettable crime novel is a coming-of-age book to rival some of the best, such as William Kent Krueger’s Ordinary Grace or Larry Watson’s Montana 1948 . . .
A must-read.’ Library Journal (starred review)

In a small town where loyalty is valued above all, defying unspoken rules can be deadly. A coming-of-age novel for fans of Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter. At fifteen, Boady Sanden dreams of being anywhere other than Jessup, Missouri.

Then the Elgins move in across the road. Getting to know his new neighbours – a black family in a community where notions of “us” and “them” still carry weight – Boady is forced to rethink the world he took for granted. Secrets hidden in plain sight begin to unfold.

There’s the mother consumed by loss of her husband, the neighbour who carries the wounds of a mysterious past, the quiet boss fighting a hidden battle. But the biggest secret of all is the disappearance of Lida Poe, the African-American woman who keeps the books at the local factory. Although Boady has never met the missing woman, he discovers that the threads of her life are woven into the deepest fabric of his world.

As the mystery of Lida’s fate plays out, Boady begins to see the stark lines of race and class that both bind and divide this small town – and he will be forced to choose sides.

Additional information

Weight 0.5 kg
ISBN

9781529327083

Author

Eskens, Allen

Publisher

Mulholland

Format

Paperback

2 reviews for Nothing More Dangerous

  1. Paula Fullerton

    Received the paperback of this as part of my December book bundle. I read it in one, sitting, I couldn’t put it down. Boady is a naive and flawed character but his heart is in the right place. The oppressive atmosphere stayed with me for a while after I’d finished. I think it’s one of those. I think it’s one of those books I’ll come back to again and again

  2. skygamestar

    Received as my Secret Santa. Beautifully written, evocative, thought provoking. Deep characters, flowing narrative with twists along the way. Really enjoyed reading this it was like Where The Crawdads Sing meets To Kill a Mockingbird

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.