My Friend the Octopus

£7.99

England, 1893, and aquarium fever is at its height. Twelve-year-old Vinnie Fyfe works in the tea-shop at Brighton aquarium, and waits for her milliner mother to return from Paris. The arrival of a giant octopus changes her life for ever.

Discovering a talent for art, Vinnie begins to draw the extraordinary beast. She soon realises she can communicate with the octopus through colour and – as a gripping mystery begins to unfold – discovers what true courage really means …

Available on backorder

Purchase this product now and earn 399 Bert Points!

SKU: 4912 Category: Tags: ,

Description

From the bestselling author of Darwin’s Dragons comes a high-stakes aquatic adventure, perfect for fans of The Murderer’s Ape!

England, 1893, and aquarium fever is at its height. Twelve-year-old Vinnie Fyfe works in the tea-shop at Brighton aquarium, and waits for her milliner mother to return from Paris. The arrival of a giant octopus changes her life for ever.

Discovering a talent for art, Vinnie begins to draw the extraordinary beast. She soon realises she can communicate with the octopus through colour and – as a gripping mystery begins to unfold – discovers what true courage really means …

The second middle-grade historical adventure by critically acclaimed Lindsay Galvin, author of Darwin’s Dragons

A gripping Victorian mystery with a touching connection between a young girl and an octopus at its heart Strong STEM and natural history themes with an underwater twist. Effortlessly blends exciting adventure with a rip-roaring historical mystery and non-fiction elements.

PRAISE FOR DARWIN’S DRAGONS: ‘A striking and original adventure … just the sort of story I love.’ EMMA CARROLL

‘WHAT a voyage! [Darwin’s Dragons] is everything you hope it will be …’ LUCY STRANGE

‘[A] beautifully fictionalised story’ THE TELEGRAPH

Additional information

Weight 0.5 kg
ISBN

9781913696405

Author

Galvin, Lindsay

Publisher

Chicken House

Binding

Paperback

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “My Friend the Octopus”

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.