Madam (3rd March 2022)

£8.99

This item will be released March 3, 2022.

Light a fire they can’t put out… For 150 years, above the Scottish cliffs, Caldonbrae Hall has sat as a beacon of excellence in the ancestral castle of Lord William Hope.

A boarding school for girls, it promises a future where its pupils will emerge ‘resilient and ready to serve society’. Rose Christie, a 26-year-old Classics teacher, is the first new hire for the school in over a decade. At first, Rose feels overwhelmed in the face of this elite establishment, but soon after her arrival she begins to understand that she may have more to fear than her own ineptitude.

When Rose stumbles across the secret circumstances surrounding the abrupt departure of her predecessor – a woman whose ghost lingers over everything and who no one will discuss – she realises that there is much more to this institution than she has been led to believe. As she uncovers the darkness that beats at the heart of Caldonbrae, Rose becomes embroiled in a battle that will threaten her sanity as well as her safety… A brooding, mesmeric novel with a feminist kick, perfect for fans of Naomi Alderman, Madeline Miller and Margaret Atwood.

Available on backorder

Purchase this product now and earn 899 Bert Points!

SKU: 2767 Category: Tags: ,

Description

‘Rebecca meets The Secret History. Gloriously dark, gloriously gothic’ SARA COLLINS

Light a fire they can’t put out… For 150 years, above the Scottish cliffs, Caldonbrae Hall has sat as a beacon of excellence in the ancestral castle of Lord William Hope.

A boarding school for girls, it promises a future where its pupils will emerge ‘resilient and ready to serve society’. Rose Christie, a 26-year-old Classics teacher, is the first new hire for the school in over a decade. At first, Rose feels overwhelmed in the face of this elite establishment, but soon after her arrival she begins to understand that she may have more to fear than her own ineptitude.

When Rose stumbles across the secret circumstances surrounding the abrupt departure of her predecessor – a woman whose ghost lingers over everything and who no one will discuss – she realises that there is much more to this institution than she has been led to believe. As she uncovers the darkness that beats at the heart of Caldonbrae, Rose becomes embroiled in a battle that will threaten her sanity as well as her safety… A brooding, mesmeric novel with a feminist kick, perfect for fans of Naomi Alderman, Madeline Miller and Margaret Atwood.

Additional information

Weight 0.5 kg
ISBN

9781529408768

Author

Wynne, Phoebe

Publisher

Quercus

Binding

Paperback

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Madam (3rd March 2022)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.