Madam

(1 customer review)

£14.99

Light a fire they can’t put out… For 150 years, above the Scottish cliffs, Caldonbrae Hall has sat as a beacon of excellence in the ancestral castle of Lord William Hope.

A boarding school for girls, it promises a future where its pupils will emerge ‘resilient and ready to serve society’. Rose Christie, a 26-year-old Classics teacher, is the first new hire for the school in over a decade. At first, Rose feels overwhelmed in the face of this elite establishment, but soon after her arrival she begins to understand that she may have more to fear than her own ineptitude.

When Rose stumbles across the secret circumstances surrounding the abrupt departure of her predecessor – a woman whose ghost lingers over everything and who no one will discuss – she realises that there is much more to this institution than she has been led to believe. As she uncovers the darkness that beats at the heart of Caldonbrae, Rose becomes embroiled in a battle that will threaten her sanity as well as her safety… A brooding, mesmeric novel with a feminist kick, perfect for fans of Naomi Alderman, Madeline Miller and Margaret Atwood.

Available on backorder

Purchase this product now and earn 1,499 Bert Points!

SKU: 2767 Category: Tags: ,

Description

‘Rebecca meets The Secret History. Gloriously dark, gloriously gothic’ SARA COLLINS

Light a fire they can’t put out… For 150 years, above the Scottish cliffs, Caldonbrae Hall has sat as a beacon of excellence in the ancestral castle of Lord William Hope.

A boarding school for girls, it promises a future where its pupils will emerge ‘resilient and ready to serve society’. Rose Christie, a 26-year-old Classics teacher, is the first new hire for the school in over a decade. At first, Rose feels overwhelmed in the face of this elite establishment, but soon after her arrival she begins to understand that she may have more to fear than her own ineptitude.

When Rose stumbles across the secret circumstances surrounding the abrupt departure of her predecessor – a woman whose ghost lingers over everything and who no one will discuss – she realises that there is much more to this institution than she has been led to believe. As she uncovers the darkness that beats at the heart of Caldonbrae, Rose becomes embroiled in a battle that will threaten her sanity as well as her safety… A brooding, mesmeric novel with a feminist kick, perfect for fans of Naomi Alderman, Madeline Miller and Margaret Atwood.

Additional information

Weight 0.5 kg
ISBN

9781529408768

Author

Wynne, Phoebe

Publisher

Quercus

Binding

Paperback

1 review for Madam

  1. KathVBtn

    Obsessed with this book and I have been talking to everyone I know about how good it is!
    A position comes up as Head of Classics at one of the most highly respected private girls’ schools in the country, and Rose, a young teacher, is surprised to find herself appointed
    From the moment she arrives, she is caught out by the hidden rules that everyone else seems to know, but which she isnt told about until her probation period is over. The girls act in a way that she’s not used to, but when she tries to win them over, it goes wrong and she’s wrongfooted again and again.
    The oppressive atmosphere seeped through the pages and until the last page, I wasn’t sure how the story would end. I cant believe its a debut novel, the style is amazing and so readable
    Its going to be on lots of Book of the Year lists, not least mine!

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.