In Every Mirror She’s Black

(1 customer review)

£16.99

Kemi is ready to change her life.

She’s sick of being second-guessed in the boardroom; tired of smiling politely while men gaze at her body; bored of dating surveys that tell her Black African women are the least desired in America. Moving across the world, for a new job, certainly things will be different?

Brittany-Rae is tired of serving others.

She’s determined not to struggle like her parents did. As a flight attendant, she’s seen the way the super-wealthy float, untouchable and easy, and she envies it. As a model in her twenties, she had a taste of that privilege. Now pushing forty, she knows that to have one kind of freedom, she must sacrifice another.

Muna began her treacherous journey two years ago.

Then, she was a family of three. Now her mother and younger brother are buried somewhere at the bottom of the Mediterranean Sea.She’s been granted asylum, but she can’t shake the feeling that she will never belong. When your only family is a stack of passport photos, it’s hard to grow new roots. In search of escape, these three women find themselves in Stockholm, a city that prides itself on being egalitarian and open.

Instead of a fresh new start, they find the same problems just wear a different name.

20 in stock

Purchase this product now and earn 849 Bert Points!

Description

A timely and arresting debut novel about what it means to be a Black woman in the world. Perfect for fans of Queenie and Americanah.

Kemi is ready to change her life.

She’s sick of being second-guessed in the boardroom; tired of smiling politely while men gaze at her body; bored of dating surveys that tell her Black African women are the least desired in America. Moving across the world, for a new job, certainly things will be different?

Brittany-Rae is tired of serving others.

She’s determined not to struggle like her parents did. As a flight attendant, she’s seen the way the super-wealthy float, untouchable and easy, and she envies it. As a model in her twenties, she had a taste of that privilege. Now pushing forty, she knows that to have one kind of freedom, she must sacrifice another.

Muna began her treacherous journey two years ago.

Then, she was a family of three. Now her mother and younger brother are buried somewhere at the bottom of the Mediterranean Sea.She’s been granted asylum, but she can’t shake the feeling that she will never belong. When your only family is a stack of passport photos, it’s hard to grow new roots. In search of escape, these three women find themselves in Stockholm, a city that prides itself on being egalitarian and open.

Instead of a fresh new start, they find the same problems just wear a different name.

Additional information

Weight 0.5 kg
ISBN

9781801108584

Author

Akinmade Akerstrom, Lola

Publisher

Head of Zeus

Binding

Hardback

Illustrator

Wildish, Steve

1 review for In Every Mirror She’s Black

  1. Sarah TURNER

    A really powerful read.
    Three black woken who are all trying to make a new life for themselves in Sweden. Trying to thrive, dépité the relentless racism, sexism and classism they continue to face, in a society that is welcoming on the surface…. But on its terms.
    The three separate stories are all linked through one man… Jonny con Lundin… the CEO Of one of Sweden’s leading companies. For Muna he is a key benefactor to the asylum centre where she first lives when arriving in Sweden as a refuge. For Kemi he is her boss… who has headhunted her from the US to head up diversity and inclusion in his firm. For Brittany he is the man who has swept her off her feet and fallen in love with her.
    All women arrive with the dream of a better life…. But is it? And are they still encountering the same problems black womenswear continue to face across the globe.
    This novel deliberately highlights the way in which there is a tendency to group all “black issues” as one, and brings such great nuance to the discussion. Powerfully delivered, and a good read.

Add a review

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.