Blood & Sugar

£8.99

June, 1781. An unidentified body hangs upon a hook at Deptford Dock – horribly tortured and branded with a slaver’s mark. Some days later, Captain Harry Corsham – a war hero embarking upon a promising parliamentary career – is visited by the sister of an old friend.

Her brother, passionate abolitionist Tad Archer, had been about to expose a secret that he believed could cause irreparable damage to the British slaving industry. He’d said people were trying to kill him, and now he is missing . .

. To discover what happened to Tad, Harry is forced to pick up the threads of his friend’s investigation, delving into the heart of the conspiracy Tad had unearthed. His investigation will threaten his political prospects, his family’s happiness, and force a reckoning with his past, risking the revelation of secrets that have the power to destroy him.

And that is only if he can survive the mortal dangers awaiting him in Deptford . . .

Available on backorder

Purchase this product now and earn 449 Bert Points!

Description

‘A page-turner of a crime thriller . . . This is a world conveyed with convincing, terrible clarity’ – C. J. Sansom, author of Winter in Madrid.

Winner of the HWA Debut Crown 2019

Winner of the Specsavers Debut Crime Novel Award 2020B

lood & Sugar is the thrilling debut historical crime novel from Laura Shepherd-Robinson for fans of C. J. Sansom and Andrew Taylor.

June, 1781. An unidentified body hangs upon a hook at Deptford Dock – horribly tortured and branded with a slaver’s mark. Some days later, Captain Harry Corsham – a war hero embarking upon a promising parliamentary career – is visited by the sister of an old friend.

Her brother, passionate abolitionist Tad Archer, had been about to expose a secret that he believed could cause irreparable damage to the British slaving industry. He’d said people were trying to kill him, and now he is missing . .

. To discover what happened to Tad, Harry is forced to pick up the threads of his friend’s investigation, delving into the heart of the conspiracy Tad had unearthed. His investigation will threaten his political prospects, his family’s happiness, and force a reckoning with his past, risking the revelation of secrets that have the power to destroy him.

And that is only if he can survive the mortal dangers awaiting him in Deptford . . .

‘A brilliant book . . .

Absolutely superb’ – James O’BrienShortlisted for the CWA New Blood Dagger 2019Shortlisted for the CWA Historical Dagger 2019Longlisted for the Theakston’s Crime Novel of the Year 2020

Additional information

Weight 0.5 kg
ISBN

9781509880799

Author

Shepherd-Robinson, Laura

Publisher

Pan Books

Binding

Paperback

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Blood & Sugar”

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.